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Pawnbroker may impose on pawn loan statutorily allowable service fee and 
storage fee, in addition to permissible monthly interest rates. Monthly or 
administrative fee of $15 imposed on $150 loan, not attributable to principal 
or allowable charge for collateral service, is considered interest above rate 
of interest pawnbroker may charge. 
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You ask whether § 54.1-4008 of the Code of Virginia prohibits the imposition of certain fees on 
pawn loans. 

You relate that certain pawnbrokers charge a monthly or an administrative fee, in addition to a 
ticket fee of $2 and regular monthly interest payments for a loan. You present two examples 
wherein both pawnbrokers impose on a loan of $150, a $2 ticket fee and monthly interest 
payments at a rate of five percent per month, with one pawnbroker imposing a $15 "monthly fee" 
and the other pawnbroker imposing monthly a $15 "administrative fee." You note that the monthly 
or administrative fee of $15 equals ten percent of the loan amount. You inquire, therefore, 
whether the charges labeled "monthly fee" or "administrative fee" are tantamount to hidden 
interest charges, in violation of § 54.1-4008. 

Chapter 40 of Title 54.1, §§ 54.1-4000 through 54.1-4014, governs the licensing and conduct of 
pawnbrokers. Specifically, §§ 54.1-4004, 54.1-4008 and 54.1-4013 provide for the imposition of 
certain charges. Section 54.1-4004 requires a pawnbroker to "deliver to the person pawning or 
pledging anything, a memorandum or note," containing certain information1 for which a "one-time 
two dollar service fee may be charged." Presumably, the $2 "ticket fee" referenced in your 
request is the service fee designated in this statute. 

Section 54.1-4008 sets forth the permissible rates of interest which pawnbrokers may charge: 

No pawnbroker shall ask, demand or receive a greater rate of 
interest than ten percent per month on a loan of $25 or less, or 
seven percent per month on a loan of more than $25 and less 
than $100, or five percent per month on a loan of $100 or more, 
secured by a pledge of tangible personal property. 

Lastly, § 54.1-4013 allows a pawnbroker to charge "two percent per month in addition to the 
regular charges for the first three months, or part thereof," for storage of specific personal 
property listed in this statute. 

Section 54.1-4008 governs "the full amount of interest pawnbrokers are allowed"2 to charge. 
Following long-standing principles of usury, it is well-settled under Virginia law that "any charge 
which cannot be attributed to either principal or to an allowed charge for collateral service is 
considered interest."3 The monthly or administrative fee of ten percent of the loan amount in the 
hypothetical examples you provide is not attributable to either principal or an "allowed" charge for 
a collateral service. Consequently, these fees must be considered as additional interest.4



The primary purpose of statutory construction is to ascertain and give effect to the intent of the 
legislature.5 "‘Any construction that has the effect of impairing the purpose of [a statute] or which 
frustrates, thwarts or defeats its objects should be avoided.’"6 Chapter 40 plainly identifies the 
collateral charges and the rates of interest that may be imposed on pawn loans.7 The monthly 
fees at issue in the hypothetical examples you provide are not expressly authorized.8 Any 
construction of the statutes that would permit pawnbrokers to charge unlimited collateral charges 
beyond those expressly permitted, in my view, renders the statutes and usury laws meaningless.9

Accordingly, it is my opinion that a pawnbroker may impose on a pawn loan only those fees 
expressly authorized by §§ 54.1-4004 and 54.1-4013, in addition to interest at the rate permitted 
by § 54.1-4008. 
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